Nature’s bounty crafted into tasty delights / 自然の恵みが美味なる絶品になりました

As I mentioned in my last post, some of the produce harvested here in MA Center Chicago was transported far away to help people in need. Throughout the growing season, we also regularly provided fresh, organically grown vegetables to the local food bank. And, I must confess… we did eat a lot of them ourselves, too.前回の投稿では、MAセンターシカゴで収穫された農作物が、助けが必要な人々のために遠い地まで運ばれたことをご紹介しました。野菜の生育期間中は、地元の食糧銀行にも定期的に新鮮な無農薬野菜を届けてきました。そして正直に告白しますと・・・私たち自身もここで採れた沢山の農作物をいただきました。

Here are some other ways in which the local devotees utilized the bountiful harvest, in mid-September.そのほかにも、地元のボランティアたちが9月半ばにまた違った形で豊作の収穫野菜を活用しましたので、それをここでご紹介します。

Before the growing season began, one devotee had the inspiration to start a “salsa garden”, with the intention of growing all the veggies needed to make our own salsa. At the end of the season, the produce from the garden was harvested, and any shortfall was supplemented with produce from another organic farm nearby.野菜の栽培期間が始まる前に、ひとりのボランティアが〝サルサ ガーデン″を始めることを思いつきました。自分たちの手作りサルサを作るのに必要な野菜全種類を育てようというわけです。夏が終わるころに畑から野菜を収穫し、足りない分は地元の無農薬菜園で買い足しました。

Then, they set about chopping everything…それから、全材料を並べて野菜切りに入ります・・・

IMG_70471IMG_44001

After cooking the ingredients for some time, they canned them nicely in mason jars…しばらく材料を煮込んだあとに、ガラス瓶に丁寧に入れていきます・・・

IMG_33651

Soon, we had our first batch of salsa — both mild and hot varieties.そして、初めての手作りサルサができました-辛味と甘味の2種類です。

IMG_93761IMG_92181

I received a jar of each and I can confirm that they were both quite delicious. Though a decent amount was made, every last jar quickly disappeared. :-)私もこの2種類のサルサをいただきました。どちらの味もたしかにとても美味しくできていました。一応それなりに十分な数を作ったのですが、最後のひと瓶まであっという間に残らずなくなってしまいました。

Next year, if we get more help with the gardening, we can certainly make lots more.来年は畑仕事を手伝ってくれる人が増えれば、もっと沢山作ることができるでしょう。

IMG_00001

The same cooking crew made a large number of apple pies, utilizing just a fraction of the apples harvested from the trees here.同じく調理メンバーが、敷地内で収穫したリンゴのうちのごく少量を使って、沢山のアップルパイを焼きました。

IMG_16031IMG_01581

These were also extremely popular, and needless to say, very tasty…こちらもとても大人気で、言うまでもなく、とても美味でした・・・

IMG_69461

Next spring, we plan to revive the roadside farm stand that used to be very popular a few years before we acquired this property. There, we hope to make fresh vegetables and other items like these available to the general public.来春の計画は、道端の野菜直売所を復活させることです。ここにMAセンターを構える数年前にとても評判が良かった直売所です。新鮮な野菜や、ここにご紹介したような手作り食品を一般にも提供したいと願っています。

Stay tuned for more developments and ideas on the roadside farm stand plan…道端の野菜直売所がどのように発展し、どのようなアイデアが展開されていくのか、楽しみにしていてくださいね。

2 thoughts on “Nature’s bounty crafted into tasty delights / 自然の恵みが美味なる絶品になりました

Leave a Reply

