Visit to Kenya in November, and Amma’s Five Things to Keep in Mind/11月のケニア訪問 心に留めるアンマの5つの教え

Though it has already been 2 months since I visited Kenya in November, the spirit of the visit ties into something Amma said during her New Year’s message. She recommended five things to keep in mind “if we want to live meaningful lives.” Of course we all want to! So, what are they?先回11月にケニアを訪れてからはや2ヶ月が過ぎましたが、ケニア訪問の精神は、アンマの新年のメッセージに結びついています。アンマは「わたしたちが意味のある人生を送りたいなら」心に留めておくべき5つのことを推奨しています。もちろんわたしたちはそのように生きていきたいですよね!じゃあ、それはどんなことなのでしょう?

The first point is “Never squander an opportunity to help others.”最初のポイントは、「ほかの人たちを助ける機会を無駄にしないこと」です。

The residents and devotees of Amma’s Chicago ashram already had this teaching in mind last Fall, when they collected supplies needed at Amma’s children’s home in Kenya in advance of my November visit there. Here is an introductory video about how the children’s home began back in 2009.アンマのシカゴアシュラムの住人やボランティアたちはすでに昨年秋にこの教えを実践しています。わたしが11月にケニアを訪問するのに先立って、ケニアにあるアンマの児童養護施設の子どもたちに必要な品物を皆で集めました。こちらは2009年にさかのぼってその児童施設がどのように始まったかを紹介している動画です。

In November of last year, I took 2 full suitcases worth of supplies with me, which were distributed when I got there.昨年の11月、わたしは供給品で一杯のスーツケースを2つ運んで行きました。中身は到着後皆に配る品物です。 The full photo album is here.写真のアルバムはこちらから。

On New Year’s, Amma said, “The help we render others will awaken joy, not just in their hearts but in ours as well.” I, myself, certainly felt joy when visiting the home again, so I wanted to share that joy with everyone else.新年のメッセージでアンマは言いました。「ほかの人を助けることは、助けられた人たちの心に喜びをもたらすだけでなく、自分たち自身の心にも喜びをもたらします」と。わたし自身、施設を再度訪れて、確かに喜びを感じました。その喜びを皆さんにも分かち合いたいと思います。

I arrived rather early in the day, so first we all gathered in the library to start the day with meditation.到着したのが早い時間だったので、まずは皆で図書館に集まって瞑想をして一日を始めました。

Then it was time for the children’s snack. Amma’s message said, “If we feed an orphan, the child’s hunger will be appeased and we will be able to see the happiness on his face.“それから子どもたちのおやつの時間です。アンマはメッセージの中でこう言っています。「親のない子どもに食べ物を分けるなら、子どもの空腹は満たされ、その表情に幸せを見出すことができるでしょう。」

While the children were having a snack, we prepared to show an introductory video about Amma and how she began her mission of service to humanity. The children quickly returned and the video was shown to a very full house. :)子どもたちがおやつを食べている間に、わたしたちはアンマとアンマの人道的奉仕活動がどのように始まったかについての紹介ビデオの上映準備をしました。子どもたちはすみやかに戻ってきて、満員状態でビデオ視聴をしました。

Then we distributed the supplies from the USA. Amma said, “How much contentment we will feel seeing that child’s happiness! This is the visible fruit of that action. There is also an invisible result—the punyam [merit] created by the action. So, never miss the opportunity to help and serve others.“それからアメリカから持って来た品物を配布しました。アンマは言います。「子どもの幸せな様子を見るのはなんという喜びでしょう!それは行動したことの目に見える実りです。そして目に見えない実りもあります-それが行為によって創り出されたプンニャム(功徳)です。ですから、ほかの人たちを助け、奉仕する機会を逸してはなりません」

After all that excitement, the children were so energizes that they took a recess and we all played soccer together.いろいろ嬉しいこともあり、子どもたちが元気いっぱいになってきたので、休み時間をとって皆でサッカーをすることに。

After a rousing soccer match, one of the local devotees, Mr. Shivarao, paid a visit.活気に満ちたサッカー試合の後で、地元の支援者の一人、シヴァラオ氏が訪ねて来ました。

Mr. Shivarao wanted to talk about the vocational training center that is located inside the compound. For those who were unaware of this facility, this video shows the stories of how people have benefited from that center.シヴァラオ氏は、敷地内にある職業訓練センターについて話をしに来たのです。この施設を知らない人たち向けに、このビデオでは、センターがどのような役割を果たしてきているかを紹介しています。

Vocational video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYmlAhm134w

Then Mr. Shivarao and I walked through the food forest inside the property, which was designed and developed according to the principles of permaculture.それからシヴァラオ氏とわたしは敷地のフードフォレストを歩きました。こちらのフードフォレストは、パーマカルチャーの原理に従ってデザイン、造園されたものです。(フードフォレストについては2013年1月2日の投稿にも記載されているので、参照してください。)

Then, it was time to say farewell to one and all, as I had to head for the airport to make my flight back to Chicago.そして、みんなにさようならを言う時が来ました。シカゴに戻る飛行機に乗るため空港に行かなければなりません。

Farewell for now, friends, I will see you again soon…友よ、さようなら。またすぐにお会いしましょう。

The children also sang a touching song to say goodbye…子どもたちがお別れに心に染みる歌を歌ってくれました。

Leave a Reply

