Full Moonset and Sunrise in the New Year/新年 満月の入り&日の出

Before the previous post, I took some nice photos on the morning that the first full moon set in the New Year. The complete slideshow is here.先回の投稿の前に、新年最初の満月が沈む朝の素敵な写真を撮りました。スライドショー全体はこちらから。

During Amma’s speech for the New Year, she said “Amma prays to the Supreme Being that in the coming year both the world and each individual within it are filled with peace, harmony and prosperity.” With its soothing rays and illuminating insight, the full moon seems to be echoing Amma’s words.アンマが新年のスピーチの中でこのようにおっしゃいました。「アンマは至高なる存在に祈ります。『新しい年がこの世の中にとって、そして一人ひとりにとって、平和で、調和に満ちた、栄ある年になりますように』と」その和やかな光と輝く叡智で、満月がアンマの言葉に呼応しているかのようでした。

Then came one of the first sunrises of the New Year.それからこちらは初日の出です。

After the prolonged darkness of night, amidst the bitter cold of winter, the sunrise reminds us of Amma’s message: “One may ask, ‘How can we keep smiling amidst all this suffering?’…  Let us not lose hope and optimism regarding the future…. We cannot allow ourselves to lose our mental strength. In reality, just like any other decision, happiness is also a decision. It is the firm decision, ‘Let anything come my way, I will be happy. I will be courageous.’ “長引く夜の闇の後、厳しい冬の寒さの中で、日の出はアンマのメッセージを思い起こさせてくれます。「人々は尋ねます。『このような苦しみの中でどうやって微笑みを絶やさずにいられるのでしょう?』と。・・・将来への望みと楽観的な考えを失わないようにしましょう。・・・私たちは、自分自身に自分の精神の強さを失わせるわけにはいかないのです。実際、ほかの決意と同じく、幸せでいることも決意の一つです。『わたしの行く道に何が起きようと、わたしは幸せでいる。勇気を持ち続ける。』そういう確固たる決意なのです。」

Winter here brings with it so many challenges, but the indomitable enthusiasm of the Sun, which symbolically represents or soul, delivers to us each morning the same teaching that Amma shared on New Year’s Eve: “There will be sweetness even amidst the pain. A mother is ready to bear the weight of her baby and undergo all the pain of labor because of her love for her child and her desire to be united with it. It is our love for the goal that gives us the strength to face all obstacles.“ここでの冬はとても多くの試練をもたらします。けれども太陽の揺るぎない熱意は、私たちの精神を象徴し、毎朝私たちにアンマが大晦日に話してくれたのと同じ教えを与えてくれます。「苦しみのさなかにさえ甘美があります。母は、我が子への愛と我が子と一緒になりたいという願いゆえに、赤ん坊の重みに耐え、陣痛の痛みを甘んじるのです。あらゆる障害に直面する強さを与えてくれるのは、わたしたちが持つゴールへの愛です。」

When New Year’s arrives, it’s very common to hear people say, ‘The previous year passed so quickly. It was gone before I knew it.’… We may have been really busy, but we need to ask ourselves, ‘Why was I so busy? Was I busy trying to attain the ephemeral or the eternal?’ The advent of the New Year is a good time to introspect and evaluate our spiritual progress.“「新年が訪れるとき、いつも人々がこのように言います。『昨年はあまりにも早く過ぎていった。あっという間だった。』と。私たちは確かにとても忙しかったかもしれません。けれども私たちは自問する必要があります。『なぜそんなに忙しかったのだろう。私は刹那的なものを得るために忙しかったのか。永遠なるものを得るために忙しかったのか。』と。新しい年を迎える時期は、内省して自分の精神的な成長を評価するのによい時期です。」

We should ask ourselves, ‘If death were to come now, would I be able to face it with a smile? Or would I tremble with fear and insecurity?’ If we have truly understood spirituality, we will have no fear whatsoever.“「私たちは自分自身に尋ねるべきです。『もし今死が訪れたなら、笑顔で直面することができる?それとも恐れと不安で震えるの?』と。もし、私たちが本当に霊性を理解するならば、何があろうと恐れることはありません」

If we are constantly engaged in actions that foster our own wellbeing and that of the world, we will find newness, vitality and enthusiasm in every moment…. We shouldn’t put off for later what needs to be done today.“「もし私たちが絶えず自分自身の幸福と世の中の幸福を育むために努力しているならば、私たちは瞬間瞬間、新鮮に、活き活きと、熱意を持って過ごすことができるでしょう。私たちは今日すべきことを先延ばしすべきではないのです。」

2 thoughts on “Full Moonset and Sunrise in the New Year/新年 満月の入り&日の出

Leave a Reply

