Amphibious wildlife near the creek 小川の水辺の住人たち

I am now in Tokyo preparing for Amma’s arrival, which is one month away :), but the day before I left Chicago I met some “residents” of the ashram for the first time. I was taking 2 gentlemen on a walk along the creek that runs through the southwest corner of the property, and we were surprised to find…わたしは今東京で、アンマの来日プログラムに向け準備をしています。あと一か月でアンマが来日されます。シカゴを発つ前日、わたしは初めてシカゴアシュラムの幾人かの(幾匹かの)「住人たち」に初めて出逢いました。アシュラムの敷地の南西角を流れている小川のほとりを歩いていて出逢った2人(2匹)の紳士と、ほかにも驚きの出逢いがありました…

This is a snapping turtle, so we didn’t get too close to it, but there was another one not far off…こちらは、カミツキガメなので、わたしたちは近くに寄り過ぎないようにしていましたが、あまり遠くないところにもう一匹いました。

In between them was a third turtle, which I’m told is called a “painted turtle”.その間には、3匹目の亀がいました。「お化粧亀」と呼ばれている亀だと聞きました。

A little ways downstream, there is also a beaver dam, but I have never met the critters yet. Let’s just pretend that this photo was taken inside the ashram…川下に少し下ると、ビーバーダムもあります。まだ一度もお目にかかってはいませんけれど。こちらはアシュラム内で撮影したかのようなイメージ写真です。

6a00e553efd18488330120a7cb0277970b

Leave a Reply

