ABK Kids Learn How to Track Animals in the Snow  ABKの子供たち雪上で動物の足跡を追う方法を学ぶ

On February 9th, the ABK kids enjoyed an outdoor winter adventure, following tracks left in the snow by the non-human residents of MACC.  They came to learn how to identify animals based on their tracks and other clues they leave behind, and discover how they depend on the prairie and woodland habitat at the ashram. Complete slideshow is here.

 

2月9日、ABKの子供たちは、MAセンターシカゴに住む人間以外の住人たちが雪の上に残した足跡を追うという冬の屋外アドベンチャーを楽しみました。足跡だけでなく残された他の手がかりをもとにして、動物の種類を特定する方法を学び、アシュラムの草原や林でそれらの動物たちが生きのびるために、どのような生活をしているか学びました。写真アルバム全体はこちらです。

 
Here is the explanation provided by their guide, Paurnami:
“We started the program by discussing signs of animals that we might find outside.  We used the acronym TELS to describe the following signs: Tracks, signs of Eating, signs of Living (nests, homes), and Scat (droppings).Before heading outside, we looked at track patterns for animals that move as walkers (ex. deer), bounders (ex. rabbit), and waddlers (ex. raccoon) to get an idea of how different animals move through their snow and what the tracks might look like.  We also examined animal skulls and guessed what they ate based on the teeth.

ガイド役パールナミさんの説明です:

“このプログラムは、動物たちが残す痕跡について話をすることから始まりました。動物たちが残す「痕跡」を追う合言葉は「TELS」。足跡(Tracks)、食事の跡(Eating)、巣の跡(Living)、糞など排泄物の跡(Scat)、この4つの各語彙の頭文字を取って作った合言葉です。外に向かう前に、動物たちがどのように移動しているかという足跡の型を見てみました。歩く動物(例えば鹿)、跳ねて進む動物(例えばウサギ)、よたよたと進む動物(例えばアライグマ)など、動き方のパターンを見て、雪の中での動きにどんな違いがあって、足跡はどのような形に残されるのか理解しました。それから動物の頭蓋骨をいくつか観察し、歯の形状から何を食べていたのかも推測しあいました。

We discovered that we had skulls from the following animals: deer, raccoon, muskrat, and fox.
Once outside, we headed towards the creek.   

私たちの手元にある動物の頭蓋骨が、鹿、アライグマ、ジャコウネズミ、キツネのものであることが判明しました。いざ屋外へ出発、小川へと向かいました。

Everyone was very excited to find tracks from deer, coyote, and mouse.  We followed the deer and coyote tracks for a long time to see where they went.   

鹿やコヨーテ、それにネズミの足跡を見つけて、みんなワクワクしていました。私たちは鹿とコヨーテがどこへ向かったのか、足跡をずっとつけてみました。

We also found deer scat by the creek, and noticed how similar it looked to chocolate-covered raisins (sorry, candy lovers!).  The ABK children loved exploring the area along the creek, and were excited to share ideas of how to explore the creek in different seasons.  We finished off the program by trying out snowshoes to see how rabbits and other big-footed animals feel walking in the snow. ” 

 

それから小川のすぐそばで鹿の糞も見つけました。しかもそれが、チョコレートでコーティングされたレーズンに似ていることも発見しました(チョコ好きの人たち、ごめんなさい!)。ABKの子供たちは、小川付近の探索がとても気に入りました。そしてほかの季節に小川をどう探索するかというアイデアをワクワクしながら分かち合っていました。プログラムの最後には、ウサギや他の大きい足の動物たちがどんな感覚で雪の中を歩いているのかを体験するために、スノーシューズを履いて歩きまわりました。”

 
Aum Namah Shivaya

オーム・ナマ・シヴァーヤ

One thought on “ABK Kids Learn How to Track Animals in the Snow  ABKの子供たち雪上で動物の足跡を追う方法を学ぶ

  1. Pingback: Kids’ Trash Cleanup Day | Life in Chicago Ashram

Leave a Reply

